BB Creams? And what the heck are they?

The “BB” in BB creams stands for “beauty balms” or “blemish balms”.  This product is very similar to a tinted moisturizer with slightly more coverage.  Most BB creams claim to hide discoloration and imperfections as well as enhance, prime,  and  give you a healthy glow.  One major benefit of BB cream is that, unlike foundation, matching colors is easy.  There are usually about four shades;  Fair, light to medium, medium to dark, and dark.  Also, if you find that the coverage of a BB cream is not what you hoped for, you can always add a little concealer or foundation and build on it.

I have tried three different brands out on the market right now, all of which are available at any drugstore and budget friendly.  Hooray!  So I will review and give you an honest opinion of which one is best for what skin type, what they do on the skin, and which one I prefer out of the three.  Let’s get right into it!

Maybelline Dream Fresh 6-in-1 BB cream:  This cream was my first purchase… and my favorite!  It has Broad Spectrum SPF 30 in it, which for extremely fair skinned gals like me is especially important.  I really hate putting plain sunscreen on my face, how about you?  Regular, old sunscreen is just too greasy and makes me break out. This BB cream is excellent if you want something that will protect you from the sun but still feels comfortable and light on the skin.  It is hydrating and good for combination to dry skin.  I also like to use this as a primer before I put on foundation because it is a good base layer to build on.

So just to recap . . . The Pros:

  • High SPF
  • Light and airy on the skin
  • A nice little, glow
  • A decent primer
  • Very hydrating
  • Price (when I bought it, it was on sale at target for 5 or 6 dollars!)

The Cons:

  • Light coverage,
  • Tends to get shiny on your skin after a couple hours in the sun, especially if you do not set it with powder
  • It’s a small bottle (I have gone through three of these in a short time)
  • It does have a slight plastic scent to it.

L’oreal Magic Skin Beautifier BB cream:  Claims to prime, perfect, hydrate and correct.  It is very light and dry’s quickly.  It comes out white and then adjusts to your skin tone, and it also has a slight grainy texture to it . . . almost like an exfoliator.  This BB cream does not have SPF in it though.  Personally, I think it is best used as a primer, though it does have some coverage.  This one is great for those of you who have oily to normal skin.  For very dry skin like mine it sticks to dry patches if you don’t moisturize a bunch ahead of time.

The Pros

  • Light, does not feel heavy whatsoever,
  • Primes the face well before foundation,
  • Doesn’t clog pores
  • This is great for oily to normal skin types

The Cons:

  • No SPF,
  • Small bottle,
  • Very light coverage

Garnier BB Cream:  Claims it is a Miracle Skin Perfector  –  I don’t agree with that title (Don’t believe the lies Ladies! haha) but it is a nice product.  This option has SPF 15 in it.  It feels heavier and thicker when it is first applied but once blended and dried it is very smooth and comfortable.  It has decent coverage but is still very much a BB cream.  This one has the most noticeable fragrance out of the three, so if that bothers you, you may want to try one of the others.  Personally, the fragrance is not an offending one and I like it.

The Pros:  

  • Feels nice on the skin,
  • Has SPF 15 in it,
  • Bigger bottle (2.5 FL. OZ.)
  • Good for all skin types

The Cons

  • May cause some skin types to look a little greasy after a couple hours,
  • Has more slip to it than the others
  • Has a noticeable fragrance
  • Not recommended as a primer

Wrapping Things Up:  If you would like to try something that is light on the skin, will work well as a primer or a sunblock, and will also give you a healthy little glow then a BB cream may just be your thing.  If you are expecting a medium to full coverage cream that completely covers blemishes and discolorations then BB cream most likely is not something you would enjoy trying.

I hope this has helped any of you out there curious about trying a BB cream.  Please let me know your thoughts and comments if you try one out!  Or if you’ve already tried one let me know which one you used and how you like it? Alrighty, that’s it for now folks! See you next time!

2 thoughts on “BB Creams? And what the heck are they?

  1. Super interesting! You were the first person to tell me about BB Creams – and I hope to give them a try soon. I’ve been using a tinted moisturizer, but I’d like something with a little more coverage.

    • I’m glad you found this interesting Stephanie! Let me know which one you try and if you like it sis 🙂 You might want to try one with a concealer and powder to set for a little more coverage. My favorite concealer and powder are on my top ten beauty products I would repurchase blog. Let me know how it goes!

Leave a Reply

